Ymddiriedolaeth
Dewi-Prys Thomas
Trust

Press release 29.11.2012: embargoed until 19:00 on 30.11.2012

The Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2012

The triennial Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize is Wales's prestigious award that recognises the importance of good design to the quality of life, identify and regeneration of Wales. The 2012 Prize – a silver medal generously sponsored by **Tata Steel** – will be presented by Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas at a ceremony in the Education Room at Ruthin Craft Centre at 18:30 on Friday, 30 November 2012. This will be the fourth time that the Prize has been awarded and the first time that the ceremony will be held in a building that has previously won the Prize. The first winner in 2003 was the Great Glasshouse at the National Botanic Gardens of Wales at Llanarthne in Carmarthenshire, the second in 2006 was The Senedd in Cardiff Bay. Ruthin Craft Centre was the third winner in 2009. The Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust thanks **Ruthin Craft Centre** for hosting the ceremony and its support for this year's Prize and for the sponsorship by **manorhaus**, Ruthin of the celebratory dinner that will be held after the ceremony.

Dewi-Prys Thomas, after whom the prize has been named, was an inspirational teacher, a talented architect and a passionate advocate for Wales and the Welsh environment. For over twenty years he was the head of the Welsh School of Architecture at Cardiff University. The prize named after him is given to the scheme which, in the judges' opinion, has contributed most to improving the Welsh environment or our understanding of it over the period 2009 to 2012. After the launch of the 2012 Prize at the Vale of Glamorgan National Eisteddfod in August, nominations/entries have been received that cover works in architecture, urban design, public art and landscape. In addition, the longer-term contributions of individual and organisations involved with environmental issues in Wales have also been brought to the attention of this years judges:

- Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas PC AM
- Sian Bailey, Artist/illustrator
- Rhys Llwyd Davies, Architect and a trustee of the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust
- Jonathan Vining, Honorary Secretary of the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust.

In all, fifty-two nominations/entries were received from which the judges first selected a long list of fourteen. This was then narrowed down to a short list of seven from which the following medal winner and commendations will be announced at the award ceremony tomorrow:



The Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2012

Winner

WISE Building, Centre for Alternative Technology, Machynlleth Pat Borer and David Lea architects

Commendations

Graham Brooks

for his life-time contribution to contemporary housing design in Wales.

Centre for Research in the Built Environment, Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff University for its pioneering research for over thirty years in environmental design, energy efficiency of buildings and urban sustainable devlopment.

Graffeg

for its extensive series of books that deal colourfully with aspects of contemporary life in Wales.

Further details can be found in the prize brochure, which contains the judges' report, provided a s a separate .pdf file. This will be published at the ceremony tomorrow.

ENDS (489 words)

Sponsors/supporters

Principal sponsor:

TATA STEEL

Supporters:











Notes to editors

The Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize is an award that recognises the importance of good design to the quality of life, identity and regeneration of Wales

The prize builds on the work of the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust in celebrating the life of this inspirational teacher and advocate for Wales and the Welsh environment. Dewi-Prys, who died in 1985, cared deeply about Wales and the Welsh environment and the prize seeks to capture this inspirational and passionate spirit.

Celebrating good design, and passion for good design, in the built environment in Wales

Many things go to make up the environment in which we live, and the Dewi-Prys recognises projects of excellence in a wide range of fields:

- Architecture
- Landscape design and public spaces
- Environmental improvements, sustainability projects and civil engineering
- Public art.

The Trust believes that the debate about, and understanding of, good design in Wales is as important as the realisation of built projects. Accordingly, the Dewi-Prys rewards not only completed projects but also insightful contributions to understanding the built environment. Examples might include:

- The representation of Welsh landscapes and buildings in art and photography
- Inspirational but unrealised designs
- Published works that make a difference to the quality of design in Wales
- Campaigning, educating and contributing to better design.

In all of these areas, the Jury will seek to reward projects and initiatives that display the following characteristics:

- Excellence: demonstrating the highest quality of thinking, design and execution
- Utility: fulfilling their essential function simply and brilliantly
- · Originality: finding new ways of working in the built environment
- Inspiration: making a difference in the quality and appreciation of design in Wales.

Prize ceremony

The Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize of an engraved silver medal – generously sponsored by **Tata Steel** – will be presented at a public ceremony by Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas in the Education Room, **Ruthin Craft**Centre at 18:30 on Friday, 30 November 2012. This will be followed by a private, celebratory dinner at, and sponsored by, **manorhaus**, Ruthin.



Previous winners

2009 Winner

Ruthin Craft Centre Architect: Sergison Bates architects

2009 Commendations

Sue Essex

The Buildings Books Trust

2006 Winner

The Senedd, Cardiff Architect: Richard Rogers Partnership.

2006 Commendations

Bill Davies.

Centre for Alternative Technology, Machynlleth.

2003 Winner

The Great Glasshouse, National Botanic Garden of Wales, Llanarthne, Carmarthenshire Architect: Foster and Partners.

2003 Commendations

La Scala, The University of Wales, Aberystwyth Artist: Mark Pimlott Engineer: Nick Hanika.

Touchstone magazine Editor: Patrick Hannay

The Royal Society of Architects in Wales.



For more information

Please contact:

Jonathan Vining
Honorary Secretary
The Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust
c/o WYG Planning & Environment
Floor 5, Longcross Court
47 Newport Road
Cardiff
CF24 0AD

Tel: 029 2032 0739 Mobile: 07774 471445

E-mail: jonathan.vining@wyg.com

Rhys Llwyd Davies
 Ymddiriedolwr
 Ymddiriedolaeth Dewi-Prys Thomas
 c/o 29 Stryd Fawr
 Y Bala
 Gwynedd
 LL23 7AG

Ffon: 01678 521450

E-bost: rhys@rhysllwyddavies.co.uk